Hari Sukan (Sports Day)

My main camera is the Olympus PEN E-PL2. I graduated to this from my Nikon Coolpix S4, so you could say the Olympus PEN is my first camera with an interchangeable lens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I first bought it, I had no clue about lenses and was content to use the one that came with the camera, a standard 14-42mm. While I had no complaints about the picture quality and was happy that I could finally take indoor and low light pictures without the blurry effect, I felt hampered with the limited zoom. My Nikon had a 10x zoom, so I still carried it with me during my travels for far distance shots.

I wanted an ‘all-in-one’ lens and the 14-150mm seemed to fit my needs. I couldn’t be bothered with changing lenses while on the go – by then, the photo opportunity would have passed. However, the over RM2,000 (less for some online deals) price tag was a deterrent.

A chance conversation with a colleague put me in contact with a secondhand Olympus broker and a few days later, I had a year-old 14-150mm for RM1,500. That same weekend I woke up to the merriment of Sports Day at the school behind my condo. It was the perfect event to test out my new lens. The pictures here were taken from the fifth floor, mostly with diaroma, pop art and dramatic filters.

"Houses"

“Houses”

"Parents"

“Parents”

"Perimeter"

“Perimeter”

"Goal"

“Goal”

"Mouths"

“Mouths”

"Straight race"

“Straight race”

"Prize"

“Prize”

"Round the curve"

“Round the curve”

"Bystanders"

“Bystanders”

"Popsicle tree"  I've always been fascinated by this huge tree. It looks like a giant arrangement of Christmas trees.

“Popsicle tree”
I’ve always been fascinated by this huge tree. It looks like a giant arrangement of Christmas trees.

""Waiting"

“Waiting”

"Starting line"

“Starting line”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Relay”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Into position”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Passing the baton”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Baskets”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Colours and lines”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Catching up”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Yellow line”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Yellow flag”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Telematch”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Hurry up!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “It’s over”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Red and blue”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA “Fooling around”

This entry was published on June 30, 2013 at 5:01 am. It’s filed under architecture, nature, people and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

