Snail mail

I love getting mail the old-fashioned way. There’s something about the anticipation, tearing off the envelope for the surprise that lies inside.

I used to write letters a lot as a teen. I had pen-pals (I still write to one of them) and I also wrote to classmates during the school holidays as my family did not have a phone then.

Nowadays, I receive more bills and promotional materials than letters and cards, but I still check my postbox every day.

I love the bright contrast between the two colours. This is my profile picture on Facebook and Twitter. Taken in Chefchaouen, Morocco.

This postbox in Brazil is such a romantic image.

I didn’t notice this at first because it looked like an electrical box.

I love these cheerful-looking postboxes at the Red Dot Design Museum building in Singapore. The stainless steel ‘shoe boxes’ commonly found in condos and office buildings are so boring.

 

A weathered postbox in Syria.

This entry was published on September 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

